Students who withdraw from a course after the add/drop period will remain on the Canvas enrollment roster. Their course status is changed from “active” to “inactive”. Inactive enrollments cannot view the course on their dashboard or access any of the course content. Additionally, inactive enrollments will not receive messages from the course. For more information about the inactive status, please see the Canvas Enrollment Status Comparison.
If you are using the Canvas REGIS GradeSync tool to send grades to REGIS, you may leave the withdrawn student’s grade as is. Students who withdraw from a course have a “W” grade in REGIS and any grade sent from Canvas is ignored.
At this time, warning grades cannot be sent to REGIS from Canvas. Course instructors should manually enter warning grades in REGIS.
Please email the Canvas Help Desk (firstname.lastname@example.org) if you have any questions about student withdrawals or REGIS GradeSync.